Zaev to meet with the new parliamentary group on constitutional amendments

The new independent parliamentary group, formed by eight MPs from VMRO-DPMNE and the coalition “For Better Macedonia”, which voted “for” accession to constitutional changes, will meet today with Prime Minister Zoran Zaev and the ministers of foreign affairs and justice, Nikola Dimitrov and Renata Treneska Deskoska, to discuss the draft amendments to the Constitution that the Government should submit to the Parliament.

The MPs reaffirmed the meeting and pointed out that they would discuss the constitutional amendments in accordance with their requirements for strengthening the identity, the delayed application of the name Republic of Northern Macedonia after the EU entry and the nullity of constitutional changes if Greece does not ratify the agreement.

Draft amendments to the constitutional changes were not received in the Parliament by noon and there were no official announcements when this could happen. The assumptions are that they will wait for the outcome of the discussions with the new parliamentary group. The ruling parties also expected talks with the opposition VMRO-DPMNE but, at least officially, did not happen. The fifteen-day deadline for submitting the draft amendments expires on Friday.
Parliament Speaker Talat Xhaferi informed the coordinators of the parliamentary groups and vice-presidents of the Assembly that a new parliamentary group was formed at the regular Monday coordination meeting. Coordinator of the independent parliamentary group of VMRO-DPMNE and the Coalition “For Better Macedonia” is Elizabeta Kanceska Milevska, MP and former Minister of Culture.