Stoltenberg expects all 29 member states to sign Macedonia’s NATO Accession Protocol

NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg said Thursday in Bucharest that he expects all 29 Allies to sign Macedonia’s NATO Accession Protocol.

At the joint press conference with President of Romania Klaus Iohannis, Stoltenberg expressed expectations that all 29 Allies will sign the Accession Protocol soon and then Skopje will take part in NATO meetings as an invitee.

“Once all 29 Allies have ratified the Protocol, we will be able to welcome the Republic of North Macedonia as NATO’s 30th member,” Stoltenberg underlined. This will consolidate peace and stability in the region, and Europe as a whole, he added.
Stoltenberg noted that with Iohannis they also discussed NATO’s continued commitment to Open Door policy and congratulated both Skopje and Athens, and Prime Ministers Zoran Zaev and Alexis Tsipras for their courage and strong leadership in resolving the name issue.