Mijalkov and Todorov excluded from VMRO-DPMNE

Former head of UBK (Administration for Security and Counterintelligence) and former high-ranking official in VMRO-DPMNE, Saso Mijalkov, and former Minister of Health Nikola Todorov are on the list of excluded members of VMRO-DPMNE. According to unofficial information, the exclusion of Mijalkov was greeted with ovations. Although Mijalkov denied any involvement in the current developments related to securing the two-thirds majority for constitutional changes, Party President Hristijan Mickoski decided to take such step despite the opposition of a large number of members and sympathizers. Unofficially, Mickoski explained this to his closest members of the leadership as a fight against the so-called “Mijalkovists”. Earlier were Mitko Jancev, former vice-president, and Kostadin Bogdanov, member of the Executive Committee were dismissed from their posts.

Mickovski and his followers believe that Mijalkov  forced the seven MPs from VMRO-DPMNE to vote for the opening of the constitution for the implementation of the Prespa Agreement in order to provide such as amnesty for abuses, while being the head of the UBK and one of the most powerful figures in the time of Gruevism.

Hristijan Mickoski, the leader of VMRO-DPMNE, received full support of the Central Committee of the party. According to sources from VMRO-DPMNE, the need for an extraordinary congress was unanimously rejected.