Lithuania eighth NATO member to ratify North Macedonia’s Accession Protocol

The Seimas (Parliament of the Republic of Lithuania)  ratified Thursday the NATO Accession Protocol for the Republic of North Macedonia with 108 votes in favor, and no votes against.

Parliament Speaker Talat Xhaferi attended the plenary session. He met Lithuanian Foreign Minister Linas Linkevičius, who reiterated Vilnius’s strong support for North Macedonia’s integration into EU and NATO.

Linkevičius expressed satisfaction that Lithuania was among the first NATO member states that ratified the protocol and the assistance of Vilnius Group to the country in the Alliance’s integration process.

He also welcomed the historic Prespa Agreement that opened Skopje’s path to NATO and EU and strengthens the stability and security of the region, hoping that the country will open EU accession negotiations in June.

Lithuania is the eighth NATO member state to ratify North Macedonia’s NATO Accession Protocol. Greece was the first one, followed by Slovenia, Albania, Bulgaria, Croatia, Montenegro and Romania.